Political Science

About the Department   Courses      Syllabus      Academic Activities/Workshop / Seminar    

About the Department

—Iswar Saran Degree College, a premier constituent college of the University of Allahabad, came into existence in 1970 under the aegis of Harijan Sewak Sangh founded by late Munshi Iswar Saran, a close associate of Mahatma Gandhi. The bonding and association of late Munshi Ji with Mahatma Gandhi was so strong that he visited the campus twice which accorded the heritage significance to our institution. Later on, as a tribute to its founder, the society was renamed as Iswar Saran Ashram. In its initial phase, the Arts Faculty started with ten subjects but within a couple of years two more subjects- Medieval and Modern History and Philosophy were also included.
—The successful growth and development of the institution encouraged the management to approach the University to seek affiliation for B.Com which was sanctioned in 1976. Science Faculty with B.Sc. in Mathematics and Computer Science was added in 1994. The college gradually and steadily expanded its horizon by introducing B.Sc. in Bio-groups in the year 2000 followed by various other certificate courses. This enabled the institute to develop more effectively the human resource required to face the future challenges and concerns of the country and contribute to society in general.
The department of Political Science is one of the leading departments of the Iswar Saran P.G. College, University of Allahabad, Prayagraj. The department was established in 1970 alongwith the establishment of the college. Dr. K.K. Agnihotri was the founder faculty of the department.

       Later Dr. Suman Agrawal (Associate Professor) and Dr. Sheo Harsh Singh (Associate Professor)            joined the department as regular faculty respectively in 1985 and 2001. Three more regular faculty          namely Dr. Vivek Kumar Rai, Dr. Akhilesh Tripathi and Dr. Akhilesh Pal joined the department in          2018 as Assistant Professors. Today, the department has five permanent faculty. Dr. Suman Agrawal    (Associate Professor) is the convener of the department.

Faculty Profile

S.N. Name & Designation Qualification Specialization Research Area Contact Detailed Profile

Dr. Suman Agarwal

Associate Professor

D.Phil. Ancient Indian Political Thoughts Ancient Indian Political Thoughts 94550 05932  

Dr. Sheo Harsh Singh

Associate Professor

D.Phil Political Theory and International Relations International Relations




Dr Akhilesh Tripathi

Assistant Professor


Moder Government Theory and Prectice

Indian Political Thooght


Click here

Dr.Vivek Kumar Rai

Assistant Professor


Government politics in india and international relations

Social justice (dr.ambedker aur phule ke vis.sandrav)




Dr. Akhilesh Pal

Assistant Professor


Indian Government and Politics, Political Thought, International Relations

Indian Government and Politics, Political Thought, International Relations




Academic Activities

Running an Orientation Programmes for UG & PG Students.
The department often organizes special lectures by noted academicians and political scientists for undergraduate and postgraduate students.
The department runs a Saturday Seminar Series for the students of U.G. and P.G. courses under the titles of Undergraduate Papers and Post graduate Papers respectively.


Workshop / Seminar

  1. The department has organized two national seminars titled as Democracy, Human Rights and Social Justice in South Asia: Romance and Reality and Caste, Democratic Politics and Nation Building: Issues, Challenges and Possibilities in 2007 and 2019 respectively.
  2. The department has organized a Model Workshop on Human Rights Awareness on 03/12/2019 wherein 19 students presented their papers.



Bachelor of Arts (B.A.)

Master of Arts (M.A.)




B.A./B.Sc./B.Com. II और III वर्ष के वे सभी छात्र जो किसी भी कारण से फीस जमा करने में असमर्थ थे, उनको प्राचार्य जी के आदेश के अनुपालन में दिनांक 24-09-2021 दिन शुक्रवार को प्रातः 10:00 से 26-09-201 दिन रविवार रात्रि 11:00 बजे तक फीस जमा करने का अंतिम मौका दिया जा रहा है। इसके पश्चात 29-09-2021 से 100₹ विलंब शुल्क के साथ फीस जमा होगी। आज्ञा से प्राचार्य।

Advertisement for the Faculty position in Department of Law (Click Here for More Details)
(Click Here for Application Form)

आज़ादी के 75वें वर्ष के उपलक्ष्य में वर्ष पर्यंत आयोजित होने वाले कार्यक्रम "आज़ादी का अमृत महोत्सव" की रूप रेखा

Link for Enrolment in English Proficiency Programme(Click Here)

Date of enrolment in English Proficiency Programme for the students of second year B.A./B.Sc./B.Com (session 2021-22) has been extended till 20th August,2021.

Notice for Commencement of online classes of English Proficiency (2021-22)(Click here for Details)

Examination of English Proficiency Programme (2020-21)(Click here for Details)

Notice for B.Sc.2nd & 3rd Year Students (2021-22)(Click here for Time Table)

Notice for B.Sc.2nd & 3rd Year Students (2021-22)(Click here for Details)

The Anti-Ragging Cell of the college is hereby constituted for the Session 2020-21.

Notice for B.Sc. I Year Online Classes Telegram Link for Online Classes (B.Sc. I Year ) Please Join Your Respective Class Group Visit Online Classes_BSc in Student Corner in Top Menu

For Day to Day College Updates please Subscribe Our Telegram Channel Iswar Saran PG College, Prayagraj ( click to subscribe https://t.me/ispgc )

आज़ादी का अमृत महोत्सव
Online Admission