Iswar Saran Degree College

A Constituent PG college of University of Allahabad

College with Potential For Excellence, NAAC Accredited B+
Home / Department / Faculty of Arts / Political Science

About the Department

Iswar Saran Degree College, a premier constituent college of the University of Allahabad, came into existence in 1970 under the aegis of Harijan Sewak Sangh founded by late Munshi Iswar Saran, a close associate of Mahatma Gandhi. The bonding and association of late Munshi Ji with Mahatma Gandhi was so strong that he visited the campus twice which accorded the heritage significance to our institution. Later on, as a tribute to its founder, the society was renamed as Iswar Saran Ashram. In its initial phase, the Arts Faculty started with ten subjects but within a couple of years two more subjects- Medieval and Modern History and Philosophy were also included. 
The successful growth and development of the institution encouraged the management to approach the University to seek affiliation for B.Com which was sanctioned in 1976. Science Faculty with B.Sc. in Mathematics and Computer Science was added in 1994. The college gradually and steadily expanded its horizon by introducing B.Sc. in Bio-groups in the year 2000 followed by various other certificate courses. This enabled the institute to develop more effectively the human resource required to face the future challenges and concerns of the country and contribute to society in general.
The department of Political Science is one of the leading departments of the Iswar Saran P.G. College, University of Allahabad, Prayagraj. The department was established in 1970 alongwith the establishment of the college. Dr. K.K. Agnihotri was the founder faculty of the department.
 Later Dr. Suman Agrawal (Associate Professor) and Dr. Sheo Harsh Singh (Associate Professor) joined the department as regular faculty respectively in 1985 and 2001. Three more regular faculty namely Dr. Vivek Kumar Rai, Dr. Akhilesh Tripathi and Dr. Akhilesh Pal joined the department in 2018 as Assistant Professors. Today, the department has five permanent faculty. Dr. Sheo Harsh Singh (Associate Professor) is the convener of the department. 

Faculty Members


Associate Professor

Qualification : M. A., D. Phil. Political Science, M. Sc., D. Phil, Defence & Strategic Studies

Specialization : Political Theory and International Relations

Research : International Relations

Email :


Assistant Professor

Qualification : PhD

Specialization : Film and Media Studies

Research : Hindi Cinema and Indian Politics

Email :


Assistant Professor

Qualification : D .Phil.

Specialization : Indian political system, international relations and global politics

Research : Indian political thought

Email :


Assistant Professor

Qualification : D.Phil.

Specialization : Indian Political Thought and System

Research : Political Thought and Constitution

Email :

Ehone : 9935505356


Assistant Professor

Qualification : M Phil, Ph D

Specialization : Indian Government and Politics, Political Thought

Research : IGP

Email :

News & Updates

Department Notice Board

Departments Events


UG Syllabus


S.No. Description View
1 UG Syllabus View
1 PG Syllabus View

Thrust Areas

Thrust area Political Science

  • Political Theory
  • Political Thought (Indian and Western)
  • International Relations


Course Outline

UG Syllabus


S.No. Description View
1 Course Outline View

Time table

S.No. Description View
1 Time Table View


S.No. Description View
1 Achievements View

Contact Details

Work Plan

S.No. Description View
1 Work Plan View